Happiness

hphphphp

True happiness is of a retired nature, and an enemy to pomp and noise;

it arises, in the first place, from enjoyment of one’s self;

and, in the next, from the friendship and conversation

of a few select companions

 

~ Joseph Addison ~

 

 

I find myself suspicious of those who too loudly proclaim their happiness.

Instead, I’m attracted to the gentle smile and shining eyes.

These declare more loudly than words that happiness lives within.

My happiest moments seem to be quiet ones:

watching young artists on spoken word poetry,

drafting poems for myself that keep my inspiration on flame,

thinking of more unique projects for young people,

a moment of meditation in the midst of a busy day.

At times I feel I can’t hold so much joy.

And if I catch a glance at myself,

I see that light shining from my eyes, too.

The light of real happiness.

I pray to be worthy of those moments, and to find them every day.

 

Leave a Reply

